

Graduate & Professional Student Senate

1		SENATE ORDER F23-02
2		SENATE MEETING September 25, 2023
3		
4 5	TITLE:	Special Election for Vacant College Chair Positions and Social Media Chair of the Graduate and Professional Student Senate
6 7 8 9	WHEREAS:	SB S23-03 adopted the College Chair positions as permanent positions of GPSS and established the College Chair Council, and
10 11 12	WHEREAS:	SB S23-06 amended the GPSS By-Laws to include the College Chair Council and the College Chair positions, and
13 14 15	WHEREAS:	SB S23-02 amended the GPSS By-Laws to reestablish the contracted position of Social Media Chair
16 17 18 19	WHEREAS:	The College Chair positions for the Colleges of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS) and Human Sciences (HSc) remained vacant after the elections in April 2023 and the Social Media Chair position remained vacant after the elections in April 2022
20 21 22	ORDERED:	That a Special Election be held by the Elections and Operations Committee, chaired by the Senate Information Officer, to fill the positions for the term, and
23 24 25	ORDERED:	That the election process follows the rules set forth in 3.3, Special Election, in the GPSS Bylaws, and
26 27 28	ORDERED:	That the Graduate and Professional Student Senate nominate to be the College Chair for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and
29 30 31	ORDERED:	That the Graduate and Professional Student Senate nominate to be the College Chair for the College of Human Sciences, and
32 33 34	ORDERED:	That the Graduate and Professional Student Senate nominate to be the Social Media Chair, and
35 36 37 38	ORDERED:	That all the nominated senators immediately assume all rights and responsibilities of their positions as delineated in our Constitution, By-Laws, Standing Rules, SB S23-03, and SB S23-02



Graduate & Professional Student Senate

39			
40	Sponsors:		
41			
42	College Chair Council		
43	Efrain Rodriguez Ocasio, SEO		
44	Charity Njeshi, Vet-med		
45	Boris M.E. Alladassi, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences		
46	Katie DuVal Mihelich, College of Design		
47	Gaurav Arwade, College of Engineering		
48	Swati Kumari, College of Business		
49	Garrison Gunter, SIO		
50			
51			
52 53			
54			
55	Christine Cain, President Edward Mahoney, Chair of the Senate		
56	Edward Manoney, Chan of the Benate		
57			