Founded in 1970, the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS) is the recognized independent representative body of graduate students at ISU; it is charged with representing the graduate and professional students' perspective on campus issues and serving as a liaison between graduate/professional students, University administration, and the Board of Regents.

GPSS is an elected governing body through which graduate and professional students express their concern for the welfare of graduate and professional students at Iowa State University, develop and disseminate ideas for the improvement of graduate and professional education, and contribute to the formation of relevant University policies.


Quick links
Find your Senator

See the Senate Schedule and Materials 

Lean about our annual Conference and Awards

Apply for graduate organization funds

Apply for travel assistance funds

Please see Iowa State University's land acknowledgement statement of Ioway Nation territory here, and more about the current Meskwaki Nation in Iowa here.

Free Announcement Line Icon - Available in SVG, PNG, EPS, AI & Icon fonts



As of April 2021, there is a NEW SENATOR NOMINATION FORM that can be filled out by the nominated senator OR the department contact/DOGE.

---Questions/concerns about this new form can be directed to the Senate Information Officer at

COVID-19 Updates:


Cyclones Care has up-to-date information about campus policies, vaccine clinic hours/availability, and covid-19 testing.

Research and Resources has statistics, publications, and information at the state, region, and global level. 


The Centers for Disease Control and the World Health Organization have some helpful tips on managing stress and anxiety during the COVID-19 pandemic. The Iowa State University Thielen Student Health Center  also has a page providing helpful COVID-19 information for students. This BBC article also has some tips for mental wellbeing during this time.

The Student Wellness Division has some helpful tips for students and employees, and action plans to support student and employee wellbeing.



Apr 22, 2021


"The National Association of Graduate-Professional Students (NAGPS) is a student-run national, non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of life of graduate & professional students across the United States.  Founded by student leaders in 1987, NAGPS is the only nationa

Read More
Apr 19, 2021

Wellness Week

Our Annual Graduate Student Wellness Week is this Monday, April 19th to Friday, April 23rd.

Read More
Apr 19, 2021

GPSC session winners announced!

Congratulations to all who participated, and a special congratulations to our session winners listed in the flyer and below:



Read More
Apr 10, 2021

2021 GPSS Award winners released!

These awards are to highlight the achievements of our graduate/professional students in the areas of Leadership, Teaching, and Research.

Thank you to all who applied, and congratulations to the selected recipients listed in the flyer and below: 



Read More
Apr 08, 2021

GPSC Begins

This conference is open to all graduate/professional students to share their research, hone their presentation skills, and learn from their peers.

Registration is free, as well as access to the Keynote speaker the night prior to the conference.


Read More
Congratulations to our upcoming officers for the 2021-2022 year!
Mar 29, 2021

GPSS Executive Council 2021-2022

Congratulations to our upcoming officers for the 2021-2022 year!

Read More
May 19, 2020

Margaret Ellen White Award Receipents

We are excited to announce that the recipients of this year's Margaret Ellen White award are Dr. Denise Schmidt-Crawford & Dr. Cathy Miller.

Read More
Apr 29, 2020

GPSS Award Winners

Professional Advancement Grants Committee of GPSS has finalized the review of Awards for the 2019-2020 academic year. The following graduate students are named as Teaching, Research, and Leadership Awards winners. Congratulations to all award recipients!

Read More
Mar 12, 2020

COVID-19 Updates

The GPSS is monitoring the current COVID-19 outbreak and its effects on Iowa State University and the Ames community.

Read More


Speech-Bubbles Icons - Download Free Vector Icons | Noun Project

Get in touch!

PresidentChristine Cainshe/her/
Vice PresidentCaitlyn Campbellshe/her/
TreasurerJuan Panelohe/him/
Senate Information OfficerGarrison Gunterhe/him/
Senate Engagement OfficerEfrain Rodríguez-Ocasiohe/him/
Conference OfficerRyan Everetthe/him/
Wellness OfficerKimia Noroozi

GPSS works closely with Student Government, meet our GPSS Senators-at-Large

Senator-at-LargeEdward Mahoney
Senator-at-LargeYonting Goh
Senator-at-LargeOPEN POSITION  

GPSS Social Media Coordinator: OPEN POSITION