University Committees

If you are interested in serving in any University Committee please fill in the following application form and email it to our Senate Engagement Officer (Note: you do NOT need to be a Senator to serve on a University Committee!).

2023-2024 University Committees




CELT Advisory Board This committee works to enhance and strengthen ISU learning and teaching initiatives campus-wide. Efrain Rodriguez-Ocasio
Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee Recommends and develops policies and procedures for university-wide curricula, reviews catalog offerings and degree requirements, and initiates discussions on future curricular matters. MacKenzie Novotny
Faculty Senate Facilities and Educational Resources Committee Advises on all matters concerning facilities, grounds, and other physical resources as they relate to instruction and research.  

Shirin Parvin

Faculty Senate Student Affairs Committee Represents the faculty perspective on student success. Serves as the faculty advisory committee to the vice president of student affairs. Olajesu Olanrewaju
Faculty Senate US Diversity Course Requirements Committee Paul Hengesteg

Finance Committee (Student Government)

Decides how we allocate the Student Activity Fee revenues.

Kean Fallon

Graduate Council: Arts & Humanities This council provides a mechanism for interaction among graduate students, postdoctoral associates, graduate faculty members, and the administration of the Graduate College on questions of policy which concern the direction and process of graduate education. This committee has 4 graduate students seated, one from each of the following divisions: Arts and Humanities, Biological & Agricultural Sciences, Physical & Mathematical Sciences, and Social Sciences & Education. Ryan Everett
Graduate Council: Biological & Agricultural Science Open Position
Graduate Council: Physical & Mathematical Sciences & Engineering Eddie Mahoney
Graduate Council: Social Sciences & Education  

Christine Cain

Information Technology Student Advisory Committee

This committee is responsible for overseeing the expenditure of the student information technology fee assessed to all students and advising the Provost and ITS on appropriate expenditures.

 Garrison Gunter
Library Advisory Committee (LAC) This committee serves as the primary advisory body to the Dean of the Library, focusing on issues such as funding, general policies, and strategic vision. Daniela Sanchez
Memorial Union Board of Directors The focus of this board is to provide advice to ISU on all policies and priorities for facility use and programming involving the Iowa State Memorial Union.  

Christine Cain

Policy Library Advisory Committee (PLAC) This committee advises policy developers and approvers on the Iowa State campus.  

Christine Cain

Special Student Fees and Tuition Committee (SSFTC) SSFTC is a statutory committee of 5 students (2 of which are graduate students, specifically the GPSS President and Treasurer) and 5 university employees who consider any proposed student activity changes at the university and make recommendations concerning the student activity fee changes to the President, prior to the Board of Regents, State of Iowa scheduled meeting where these will be discussed.  

Christine Cain


Kean Fallon

Student Conduct Hearing BoardEnforces Student Code of Conduct and resolves student disciplinary cases that could potentially result in suspension or expulsion.Eddie Mahoney

Student Initiatives (Student Government)

The Student Government Student Initiatives Committee.

Open Position

Transportation Advisory Council (TAC) This council’s primary function is to serve as a channel for the expression of user-group opinions and preferences, both on broad policy matters and on specific issues, pertaining to the movement of people and vehicles to, from, and around campus. Open Position


University Committee for the Advancement of Women and Gender Equity (UCAWGE)

This committee works to promote a university climate that fosters the full participation of women faculty, staff, and students and concerns itself with policies/practices that may cause particular difficulties for women as employees and students.

Shirin Parvin
University Committee on Disabilities This committee is responsible for sharing knowledge concerning disabilities with the university committee, for fostering awareness of the needs of persons with disabilities, and for advocating ways to meet these needs.  

Jeniffer Perea-Lopez

University Committee on Lectures This committee works to bring a broad spectrum of lectures as well as cultural and artistic events to campus, evaluates the appropriateness of presenters and topics, and determines which shall receive funding.
 Efrain Rodriguez Ocasio
University Sustainability Committee Daniela Sanchez