Margaret Ellen White Award

DEADLINE for Margaret Ellen White Award applications are on Saturday, February 10th, 2023 at 11:59 PM.



This award was established in 1985 by Margaret Ellen White to show her appreciation for excellent guidance and encouragement of graduate students. Miss White, now deceased, graduated from Iowa State's College of Home Economics and served as an administrative assistant in the Graduate College for thirty-seven years.

This award is now managed in partnership between GPSS, the Graduate College, and the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost.



To recognize a member of the graduate faculty who has demonstrated exceptional mentorship to graduate students both during their time at Iowa State and beyond graduation. This award is student-led and is organized, funded, and maintained by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate.



The nominee must be a current member of the Iowa State University graduate faculty who has advised at least six (6) graduate students as major professor. Only graduate students who are, or who have been directly advised by the faculty member as major professor may submit nominations. Graduates or alumni are eligible to serve in this role. Recipient must be an Iowa State employee at the time of the University Awards Ceremony.

A student may nominate only one (1) faculty member per award cycle. Faculty may not self-nominate nor nominate another faculty member. Previous recipients are not eligible to be nominated again.


Nature of the award: 

$2500 one-time stipend


Number of awards: 

Up to two



Nominees should have demonstrated a measurable impact on the experiences and professional opportunities of the graduate students they have mentored as major professor. A strong nomination will include clear examples of the quality of their mentorship and the resulting effects on the education and opportunities afforded to their graduate student mentees.

Guidelines for Submitting Nominations for the Margaret Ellen White Award:

Please visit the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost for nomination information and submission.

Once nominations have been submitted, they are reviewed by a GPSS committee which determines the finalists (up to two) and the GPSS committee submits a recommendation to the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost by April 1. Award recipients and their nominator(s) are  notified by the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost by May 1. Award recipients will be honored at the University Awards Ceremony in the fall.

For questions about award eligibility, please contact

For questions about award submission, please contact or call 515-294-6410.


Past Award Winners


Kenny Cook
Dipali Sashital